The Portal of Creativity

Portals and passages says the woman on my screen.

I am listening to a talk on depression and spirituality… just because. I listen as I sit on my bed, knowing that the words are true but find it hard to budge myself from a dark internal process that has sucked up a few days of my life. It appears that depression causes atrophy in the cortex. Now that sounds pretty grim. Here I am ruminating in my own shit while simultaneously creating more of the fetid mess. I know I’m feeling crap but really, is it that bad? I hear the woman say that there is hope, even though the word has temporarily slipped from my vocabulary. I guess that means yes. But her talk is compelling so I lean toward the dulcet tones. Her next words resonate in my core. When spirituality is embraced, the cortex grows thick as tree. If depression is on one side of a door then spirituality is on the other.

Imagine the door as a metaphor for creativity. On one side of the creative process there is doubt, dislocation and damnation. But once the handle turns and the portal is open, there is another world… παράδεισος.

Paradise.

Photo: Jeni McMillan

2 thoughts on “The Portal of Creativity

  1. Nos rêves et notre realite font partie de nous. Nous devons accepter cette vie impose un prix pour la liberté, souvent plus lourd que le prix d’être un esclave au train-train quotidien.

    Like

  2. Bonjour Cedron! Je suis d’accord avec vous apropo que nos rêves et notre realite font partie de nous. De toutes façons, nous profitons d’analyser ce sujet qui nous bouleversons du temps en temps. Une personne creative pourriat suffrire des émotions éxtremes, mais qui voudrais changer cette vie creative? Nous, et les gens créatifs parmi nous, profitons d’une vie extraordinaire, une vie pleine de la joie et de la tristesse. Bien sur cette vie impose parfois un prix, mais je ne c’est pas certain que la vie que j’ai choissi est plus lourd que le prix d’être un esclave au train-train quotidien! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

