The wild heart of Australia

This story began in the beginning of time. I was a city girl but my heart was captured by a tall stranger and we escaped to the wilds to begin life. For I felt that this was when my life truly started. It was a romantic tale, a creation on blank canvas to be sure, ready for the layers of the history that would come and make a truly grand masterpiece of living. I learned about the mountains and the singing river. I came to know each bird from its song and an impending storm from the clouds that drifted across the valley and disappeared over the jagged horizon. Most of all I discovered a joy in my heart from the simplicity of seasons, the rhythms of nature and a solitude that preceded computers and the internet. The mail delivery was an hour away, shopping was a three hour drive each way. I had no neighbours, television, phone, fridge, washing machine, oven or running water for these ten years and I did not miss them at all. I was very, very happy.

(You can see the remains of the hut that we built by hand. As i said, there are layers of history in this treasured work of life. Top photo by Christal George.)

Jeni Snowy   Living on the river.

5 thoughts on “The wild heart of Australia

  1. Oui je connais vous et PB, (est il toujours en vie?) J’ai acheté votre premier ouvrage, un wombat que j’ai toujours. Salut

    Liked by 1 person

  2. D’accord, Cedron, j’aime bien les mysteres mais …! Votre address email, svp, pour continuer parler en prive. Salut!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Παράδεισος…!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes geo, Παράδεισος! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

