Unspeakable Love

I have been working on this painting for a while now. It grew quickly, after the adrenaline rush of an evening’s life drawing, then stagnated on my wall for almost a year. I knew it wasn’t what I wanted but left it to gather dust. Passing glances told me that it was incomplete… but this stayed unresolved. A few weeks ago I reworked the face, creating a bland something that resembled a mass market greeting card. I fled for the coast, sun-filled days and friends calling.

I’m back in the city now, flying with new year energy. I threw myself at the canvas today and reworked the lot, knowing, simply knowing, that it was time!

DSC_2540

‘The gift of unspeakable Love’, Oil on Canvas, 60cm x 60cm

© Jeni McMillan 2016

8 thoughts on “Unspeakable Love

  1. Wow! The journey to arrive at this was surely worth it! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thanks so much, Tony! What a gift to receive such praise 🙂

    Like

  3. amazing coloring Jen Jen!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sunshine Jansen

    Beautiful and vibrant — may that energy keep you soaring long into the new year!

    Like

  5. Thanks so much, Sunshine! I’m sending energy your way for the new year and beyond! 🙂

    Like

  6. that is interesting 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

